thick with garbage and the dust of stars

Trakl-Pictures for String Quartet (2013)

Duration: c. 14 minutes

The four unequal movements of this string quartet are snapshots from the lurid poetry of Austrian Expressionist Georg Trakl.

The first two movements are fragments; question marks. The first is a slow swirl of uncertainty, the second a warped descent. The third movement is fast, and obsesses over hard scraps of theme with the gears constantly shifting. The fourth movement is a numbed night-vision which looks up at a cold sky and sees the rest of the piece disappear out of sight.

Commissioned by Carriageworks

First performance: 17 August 2013, Carriageworks, Sydney by the JACK Quartet

Listen to the premiere performance by the JACK Quartet

View the complete score here


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s